Anne G. Osborn
ASNR International Outreach Professor Program

The Anne G. Osborn ASNR International Outreach Professor Program, started in June 2017, is a volunteer program available to ASNR Senior members who are interested in teaching in developing countries. It is not a traditional visiting professor program, but is an outreach program where the costs of the program are shared between the ASNR member, the ASNR, and the host organization in the host country. The program was suspended in 2021 and 2022 due to the Covid-19 pandemic but resumed 2023. Seven countries are participating in the 2024 program: Argentina, Brazil, Ghana, Tanzania, Ethiopia, South Africa and Colombia (two programs in Brazil). 

The 2024 Anne Osborn International Outreach Professors have been selected and include:

Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
ArgentinaRajan Jain
South AfricaAmit Agarwal
Brazil – RecifeAnn Jay
EthiopiaRyan Peterson
Brazil – Sao Paolo/RioAdam Goldman-Yassen
TanzaniaXin (Cynthia) Wu
GhanaGaurang Shah
GhanaElka Miller
ColombiaTimothy Shepherd
ChileAshesh Thaker

The main objective of the program is to facilitate the exchange of knowledge and techniques, and to teach. The successful applicant will be expected to be an enthusiastic teacher with excellent teaching skills, even when in an unfamiliar teaching environment. The successful applicant will be expected to give traditional lectures, perform case reviews and teaching-file reviews, and participate in direct teacher-to-student “view-box”/”workstation” teaching. The minimum length of a professorship is one week. However, some countries may request and support a longer exchange. The expected daily teaching activities will vary from location to location. We anticipate that during a typical program, the visiting professor will spend one week in each of one or more hospitals in the host country. During each week they will give approximately three lectures and spend approximately four half-days in direct teaching sessions, allowing one full day and the remaining half-days free for activities of their own choosing. The professor may also be asked to speak at a local or regional continuing education event. The time of year for each professorship will vary from country to country. Each country usually indicates a preference for the dates of the professorship but in most cases there will be flexibility with respect to scheduling the professorship, subject to the wishes of the host organization and the availability of the professor.

The ASNR supports up to 10 placements per year. Applications open in late summer of every year. The application form is intended to be brief, with an emphasis on the applicant’s teaching skills and experience. All applications will be reviewed by the ASNR and then submitted to the host organization. The host organization will have the final decision on which ASNR members they are most interested in hosting. A “match” will be held between the applicant’s rank order and the host country’s rank order. Preference will be given to ASNR members who have not been an outreach professor in the past.

In most placements, the host country will provide local housing, meals, and local transportation. Unfortunately in some locations, this may not be possible. The ASNR will provide a $2,000 (U.S. funds) travel reimbursement to each successful applicant, as well as a certificate upon completion of the professorship. All other expenses will be the responsibility of the ASNR member.

Upon completion of the program, the outreach professor will provide a one-page report summarizing his/her experience to be published on the ASNR website. Reports from previous ASNR Outreach Professors are available online.

Previous International Outreach Professors


Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
ArgentinaErik Middlebrooks
ArgentinaSuresh Mukherji
Brazil – RecifeMohit Agarwal
Brazil – RecifeRamon Figueroa
Brazil – Sao Paolo/RioAjay Malhotra
Brazil – Sao Paolo/RioRobert Young
GhanaMajid Khan
TanzaniaLea Alhilali
TanzaniaFrank Lexa
ThailandMai-Lan Ho


Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
Brazil – RecifeAshok Srinivasan
Brazil – Sao Paolo/RioSugoto Mukherjee
EgyptMahmud Mossa-Basha
EthiopiaDavid R. Pettersson
MongoliaAlexander Khandji
MyanmarCarolina V. Guimaraes
South AfricaLawrence Ginsberg
TanzaniaJim Anderson
ThailandMari Hagiwara
UkraineAjay Malhotra


Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
Brazil – RecifeMai-Lan Ho
Brazil – Sao Paolo/RioGaurang Shah
EgyptJoseph P. Cousins
EthiopiaCarina Yang
EthiopiaSandeep Bhuta
GhanaKwasi Ofori Armah
PeruSarah Sarvis Milla
South AfricaHarprit Bedi
ThailandAlireza Radmanesh
UkraineAchint K. Singh


Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
Brazil – RecifeCarlos Zamora
Brazil – Sao Paolo/RioAmit Agarwal
EthiopiaSusan Palasis
GhanaGregory Avey
KenyaJoshua P. Nickerson
MyanmarCarlos H. Torres
NicaraguaElka Miller
South AfricaSuyash Mohan
ThailandTodd Abruzzo
UkraineRajan Jain


Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
Brazil Mark E. Mullins
Brazil John T. Wald
EthiopiaAylin Tekes-Brady
GhanaBruno P. Soares
MyanmarChristopher G. Filippi
South AfricaRobert C. McKinstry
ThailandAshok Srinivasan
UkraineFrank J. Lexa
UkraineGreg Zaharchuk


Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
Brazil Nafi Aygun and Meng Law
EthiopiaRobert Delapaz
GhanaHemant Parmar
MyanmarCarlos Martinez
PeruMaria Cortes and Ramon Figueroa
South AfricaJeffrey Lee Creasy
ThailandEugene Yu
UkraineJames Abrahams & Lawrence Ginsberg


Sponsoring CountyOutreach Professors
IndiaWilliam Dillon and David Yousem
PeruLawrence Ginsberg
South AfricaWade Wong
UkraineJonathan Morris and Donald Schomer