Kamil Ugurbil, PhD presented the 2018 Victor M. Haughton Award at the ASFNR 12th Annual Meeting

Dr. Kamil Ugurbil (left) receiving his recognition award for his 2018 Victor M. Haughton, MD, Honorary Lecture at the ASFNR 12th Annual Meeting from ASFNR President, Dr. Kirk Welker (right).
Photo Courtesy of Dr. Haris Sair

Kamil Ugurbil, PhD, from the Center for Magnetic Resonance Research (CMRR) at the University of Minnesota was presented the 2018 Victor M. Haughton Award on October 15th, 2018 during the ASFNR 12th Annual Meeting at Hotel del Coronado in Coronado, California.

The ASFNR Victor M. Haughton Award is presented annually to an internationally recognized leading research scientist whose work has made significant contributions to the field of advanced neuroimaging and neuroradiology. The award is named for Victor M. Haughton, MD, a physician leader central to the founding of the ASFNR, and is the highest honor bestowed by the society.  In conjunction with receipt of this award, Dr. Ugurbil provided the ASFNR attendees with an honorary lecture “Neuroimaging in the Human Connectome Project and the BRAIN Initiative.”

Dr. Ugurbil studied at Columbia University earning his Bachelor of Art degree in Physics. He continued on at Columbia University to earn his Master, Master of Philosophy, and PhD in Chemical Physics. In 1982, Dr. Ugurbil was recruited to the University of Minnesota. This was where his research in magnetic resonance led to the evolution of his laboratory into an interdepartmental and interdisciplinary research center, the Center for Magnetic Resonance Research (CMRR).

Dr. Ugurbil’s research focuses on magnetic resonance (MR) imaging and spectroscopy including ultrahigh field MR methodology and instrumentation. He has pioneered the use of these methods in a variety of biomedical applications, predominantly in the study of brain function. His research has resulted in significant accomplishments such as the introduction of functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI), imaging brain function and connectivity with magnetic resonance techniques at fields of 7 Tesla and higher, elucidating the biological mechanisms underlying the functional mapping signals in fMRI, and development of MR imaging and spectroscopic techniques at ultrahigh magnetic fields to advance biomedical research in the human body. He has developed high frequency RF instrumentation for ultrahigh field MR imaging in humans. Notably, under Dr. Ugurbil’s leadership, the first 7 Tesla MRI for human studies was developed at CMRR in 1999.

Dr. Ugurbil is the McKnight Presidential Endowed Chair Professor and the Founding Director for the Center for Magnetic Resonance Research at the University of Minnesota. He is also an Advisory Editor for the Neural Computation Journal, and is on the Scientific Advisory Board of Neurospin.

Dr. Ugurbil has received numerous prestigious awards including the Gold Medal of the Society of International Magnetic Resonance in Medicine. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine as well as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Ugurbil has delivered many high profile honorary lectures including the Sir Peter Mansfield Lecture at the ESMRB and the Ernst Lecture at ETH Zurich. He has been awarded honorary doctorate degrees from both the University of Utrecht and the University of Maastricht in the Netherlands.

In recent years, Dr. Ugurbil has served as a co-principle investigator for the Human Connectome Project one of the largest, most important, and widely acclaimed neuroimaging research efforts devoted to understanding the brain’s complex intrinsic connections or, in other words, “the wiring of the brain.”   Moreover, he has represented the neuroimaging community as a member of the elite NIH BRAIN Initiative working group.

The ASFNR Annual Meeting features in-depth and comprehensive updates on functional neuroimaging and advanced neuroimaging appealing to a broad range of neuroradiologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, physicists, neuropsychiatrists and psychologists, cognitive neuroscientists, biomedical engineers, clinical and research fellows, residents, doctoral and postdoctoral students, and radiology technologists.

For more information on the ASFNR Victor M. Haughton, MD Award, or the Society in general, contact ASNR Executive Director Mary Beth Hepp at mhepp@asnr.org or 630-574-0220, ext. 224.

800 Enterprise Drive, Suite 205
Oak Brook, IL 60523-4216
Website: www.asfnr.org

Password Request

Enter the Username for your user account, then click Submit. We will email you a temporary password.

Find Username

Enter email address for your user account, then click Submit.