2019 Gold Medal Recipients, Honorary Member, and FASNR Outstanding Research Award Recipient

ASNR Awards Committee Selects 2019 Gold Medal Recipients, Honorary Member, and FASNR Outstanding Research Award Recipient

It is with great enthusiasm that the 2018-2019 ASNR Awards Committee, chaired by Jacqueline A. Bello, MD, FACR, announces the 2019 Gold Medal Recipients, Honorary Member, and the recipient of the FASNR Outstanding Contributions in Research Award!

Two recipients have been selected for this year’s Gold Medal Award — Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD, FACR from Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia; and Michael Brant-Zawadzki, MD, from Hoag Memorial Hospital, Newport Beach, California.

Dr. Meltzer is the William P. Timmie Professor and Chair of Radiology and Imaging Sciences and Associate Dean for Research at Emory University School of Medicine. She is a neuroradiologist and nuclear medicine physician whose translational research has focused on serotonin-mediated brain function in normal aging, dementia, and other late-life neuropsychiatric disorders, as well as technology development. She oversaw the clinical evaluation of the world’s first combined PET/CT scanner. Dr. Meltzer has authored approximately 200 publications and lectured nationally and internationally. Reflective of her commitment to academic medicine, Dr. Meltzer has served in numerous national leadership roles and professional and advisory boards including as past president of the American Society of Neuroradiology. Her contributions to ASNR include establishing the Women in Neuroradiology Leadership Award, enhancing programing on health policy and economics, and leading strategic planning efforts. Dr. Meltzer received her medical degree from The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and completed her postdoctoral medical training at The Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland. She is a fellow of the American College of Radiology and the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.



Dr. Brant-Zawadzki is the Senior Physician Executive at Hoag Hospital, facilitating business and strategic relationships with specialist clinicians, overseeing a platform for programmatic care that integrates specialized services with population health. He has also helped Hoag transform health care strategy by focusing on specific health conditions using a program driven, physician led, multi-disciplinary team approach, measured by patient-focused outcomes. He also oversees the Hoag Center for Research and Education and holds the Ron and Sandi Simon Endowed Chair as the Executive Medical Director of the Pickup Family Neurosciences Institute at Hoag — having led the Institute from its inception. The institute coordinates Neurosurgery, Neurology, Psychiatry, Pain, Addiction, and Sleep Services.

Dr. Brant-Zawadzki has a BA from Stanford, and earned his MD from the University of Cincinnati, graduating first in his class. His training in diagnostic radiology and in interventional neuroradiology were at Stanford. He spent six years in the Department of Radiology at UCSF, and still holds an Adjunct Professorship at Stanford. Dr. Brant-Zawadzki has authored over 250 papers, numerous textbooks, serves on a variety of editorial boards for professional journals and sat on numerous professional organization boards and committees. He lectures inter/nationally. He is a Fellow of the American College of Radiology, a Gold Medal recipient from the Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.

He was Medical Director of Radiology at Hoag, earned the Certificate in Leadership for Health Care Transformation from UC Irvine’s Paul Merage School of Business. He is a founder of, and consultant to, a number of companies in the biotech and radiology fields.


The 2019 Honorary Member Award Recipient, Peter J. Basser, PhD, a scientist-inventor whose work has transformed how neurological disorders and diseases are diagnosed and treated, and how brain architecture, organization, structure, and anatomical “connectivity” are studied and visualized. He is the principal inventor of Diffusion Tensor Magnetic Resonance Imaging (DTI) — a non-invasive MRI technology that yields a family of novel features and imaging biomarkers. Quantities that he proposed include the mean apparent diffusion coefficient (mADC) — a DTI-derived parameter widely used to follow changes in stroke and in cancers, and the fractional anisotropy (FA), a robust quantity that makes brain white matter visible. He also proposed and developed “Streamline Tractography,” a means to elaborate white matter pathways, which now helps neuroradiologists plan brain surgeries.

More recently, Dr. Basser has been a pioneer in the field of “Microstructure Imaging”, which uses MRI data and models of water diffusion in tissue to extract salient micron-scale morphological features. Examples of MRI methods Dr. Basser invented and developed with colleagues include the non-invasive measurement of the mean axon diameter (CHARMED), the axon diameter distribution (AxCaliber), and the mean apparent propagator (MAP) in each voxel. He and members of his lab have also been actively involved in developing multiple pulsed-field gradient (mPFG) methods to measure microscopic diffusion anisotropy, which they reported observing in gray matter as early as 2007. Within the past few years, Dr. Basser’s lab has continued to make seminal contributions to neuroradiology, inventing and developing MRI methods to measure and map joint relaxation and diffusion spectra in brain tissue.

Dr. Basser received his undergraduate and graduate training in Engineering Sciences at Harvard University and his post-doctoral training in the Intramural Research Program (IRP) of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD. Currently, he is a Principal Investigator and Associate Scientific Director within the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.


The 2019 FASNR Outstanding Contributions in Research Award Recipient, David F. Kallmes, MD, is an Interventional Neuroradiologist who has maintained continuous federal funding for nearly 20 years. His research interests span from computational modeling to molecular biology, animal modeling, clinical trials, meta-analytic studies, cost effectiveness analyses, and big data analytics, with more than 600 publications to date. He is the co-developer of the rabbit elastase aneurysm model, which is widely applied in neurovascular research. Using the model he has carried out foundational research on aneurysm hemodynamics and physiology and has helped shepherd numerous neurovascular devices to the clinic, most recently the Pipeline Embolization Device and the Woven Endobridge.

He has served as Principal Investigator for multiple NIH- and industry-sponsored clinical trials, including the INVEST vertebroplasty trial that cemented the role sham-controlled methodology in our field. He assembled research teams that have published highly cited papers calling into question the true nature of post-contrast acute kidney injury, as well as characterizing the intracranial deposition of gadolinium. Most recently, he established a large tissue registry for clots retrieved during embolectomy procedures. He served as Deputy Editor for Neuroradiology at Radiology for 8 years.

Early in his career he received the Dyke Memorial Award from the ASNR for cost effectiveness research co-authored with his wife, Michelle Kallmes, PhD. He is the proud father of five children and an inveterate running enthusiast, trying not to slow down over time, with variable success.

Drs. Meltzer, Brant-Zawadzki, Basser, and Kallmes will receive their respective awards during the President’s Appreciation Dinner on Tuesday, May 21, 2019 during the ASNR 57th Annual Meeting, which takes place May 18-23, 2019 at the Hynes Convention Center in Boston, Massachusetts.