ASNR 2018 Gold Medal and Honorary Member Award Winners

ASNR Awards 2018 Gold Medal to Drs. Mauricio Castillo and Ajax E. George

The 2017-2018 Gold Medal Award Committee, chaired by Dr. Roland R. Lee selected Mauricio Castillo, MD, FACR from The University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Radiology Department in Chapel Hill, North Carolina and Ajax E. George, MD from NYU Langone Medical Center, Department of Radiology in New York, New York as 2018 recipients of the ASNR Gold Medal.

Dr. Castillo’s scholarly activities range over many areas of our subspecialty. His long-standing contributions to the ASNR include serving as 2013-2014 President, as Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Neuroradiology from 2007-2015.  Dr. Castillo is well-respected international leader.  He has helped lead and promote the field of neuroradiology internationally, particularly in Latin America and South America.

Dr. George’s research has been recognized with best paper awards from the ASNR Annual Meeting as lead author as far back as 1974 and most recently in 2011.  Dr. George has served the ASNR and the field of neuroradiology in countless ways throughout his career including service on various ASNR committees and as ABR oral board examiner and board examiner for the Neuroradiology CAQ.

ASNR Awards 2018 Honorary Member Award to Professor Didier Dormont

The 2017-2018 Honorary Member Committee, chaired by Dr. Pamela W. Schaefer, selected Professor Didier Dormont from Pitie-Salpetriere Hospital in Paris, France as the recipient of the ASNR 2018 Honorary Member Award.

Among Professor Dormont’s many contributions to the field of neuroradiology include being the principal investigator in France for the ISAT study on cerebral aneurysms, developing pioneering standards for the post-treatment non-invasive imaging follow up of cerebral aneurysms, MRI stereotactic guidance for the treatment of dystonia, Parkinson’s disease and OCD and developing imaging protocols for the evaluation and follow up of dementias.

Drs. Castillo, George and Dormont will receive their respective awards during the ASNR President’s Appreciation Dinner, Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at the Pan Pacific Vancouver hotel during the ASNR 56th Annual Meeting, June 2-7, 2018 at the Vancouver Convention Centre East in Vancouver, British Columbia, CANADA.

Password Request

Enter the Username for your user account, then click Submit. We will email you a temporary password.

Find Username

Enter email address for your user account, then click Submit.