ASNR International Outreach Professor Program

The ASNR International Outreach Professor Program is a volunteer program available to ASNR Senior members who are interested in teaching in developing countries. It is not a traditional visiting professor program, but is an "outreach" program where the costs of the program are shared between the ASNR member, the ASNR, and the host organization in the host country.

The main objective of the program is to facilitate the exchange of knowledge and techniques, and to teach. The successful applicant will be expected to be an enthusiastic teacher with excellent teaching skills, even when in an unfamiliar teaching environment. The successful applicant will be expected to give traditional lectures, perform case reviews and teaching-file reviews, and participate in direct teacher-to-student "view-box"/"workstation" teaching. The minimum length of a professorship is one week. However, some countries may request and support a longer exchange. The expected daily teaching activities will vary from location to location. We anticipate that during a typical program, the visiting professor will spend one week in each of one or more hospitals in the host country. During each week they will give approximately three lectures and spend approximately four half-days in direct teaching sessions, allowing one full day and the remaining half-days free for activities of their own choosing. The professor may also be asked to speak at a local or regional continuing education event. The time of year for each professorship will vary from country to country. In most cases there will be flexibility with respect to scheduling the professorship, subject to the wishes of the host organization and the availability of the professor.

The ASNR will support up to 10 placements per year. Applications for 2018 professorships will be available in summer 2017. The applicant will be asked to rank order those programs to which he/she is applying. All applications will be reviewed by the ASNR then submitted to the host organization. The host organization will have the final decision in which ASNR members they are most interested in hosting. A &"match" will be held between the applicant's rank order and the host country's rank order. Applicants will be notified of the results of the match in August for professorships during the following year. Preference will be given to those ASNR members who have not been an outreach professor in the past two years.

There are currently organizations in eight countries that are interested in participating in the 2017 program: Brazil, Peru, Ethiopia, Ghana, South Africa, Myanmar, Thailand, and Ukraine.

In most placements, the host country will provide local housing, meals, and local transportation. Unfortunately in some locations, this may not be possible. The terms will be made clear at the time the professorship is announced. The ASNR will provide a $2,000 (U.S. Funds) travel grant to each successful applicant, as well as a certificate upon completion of the professorship. All other expenses will be the responsibility of the ASNR member.

Upon completion of the program, the outreach professor will be asked to write a one-page report summarizing his/her experience. This report will be published on the ASNR website.

2015-2017 Outreach Professors

Sponsoring Organization/Country

2017 Outreach Professors


Christopher G. Filippi


Anil Khosla

Ukraine (deferred from 2016)

Frank J. Lexa

South Africa

Robert C McKinstry


Mark E. Mullins


Bruno P. Soares


Ashok Srinivasan


Aylin Tekes-Brady


John T. Wald


Greg Zaharchuk

2016 Outreach Professors

Myanmar Radiology Society, Yangon, Myanmar

Carlos Martinez

Mahidol University, Bangkok, Thailand

Eugene Yu

Addis Ababa University, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Robert Delapaz

Ghana Association of Radiologists, Accra, Ghana

Hemant Parmar

Radiological Society of South Africa (RSSA), South Africa

Jeffrey Lee Creasy

Peruvian Society of Radiology, Peru

Maria Cortes and Ramon Figueroa

Danylo Halytskyi Medical University, L'viv, Ukraine

Frank J. Lexa and James  J. Abrahams

Clínica de Diagnóstico por Imagem, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Nafi Aygun and Meng Law


2015 Outreach Professors

Indian Radiology and Imaging Associations (IRIA), India

William Dillon and David Yousem

Radiological Society of South Africa (RSSA), South Africa

Wade Wong

Peruvian Society of Radiology, Peru

Lawrence Ginsberg

Danylo Halytskyi Medical University, L'viv, Ukraine

Jonathan Morris and Donald Schomer

Password Request

Enter the Username for your user account, then click Submit. We will email you a temporary password.

Find Username

Enter email address for your user account, then click Submit.